Congressman DeJarlais Announces Winners To District Art Contest

  Email   Print
Murfreesboro Central Magnet Student Winner Dylan Upchurch with Congressman DesJarlais.
Murfreesboro Central Magnet Student Winner was Hannah Middleton (this is her father pictured) with Congressman DesJarlais.

Fourth District U.S. Congressman Scott DeJarlais was at MTSU's Todd Art Gallery Monday evening to congratulate winners of a district-wide art competition. 

DeJarlais told WGNS News . . .


More details

This year’s 10 finalists in the annual Congressional Art Competition representing Tennessee’s 4th U. S. Congressional District were announced Monday night during a reception at MTSU’s Todd Art Gallery. Chosen from among the work of nearly 90 high school students across the 16 counties of the district US Representative Scott Desjarlais made the presentation of finalists including a second and first runners-up and the winner, now headed for the Cannon Tunnel adjacent the Capitol Building in Washington D.C. where it will remain until replaced by next year’s district winner.


The 1o finalists included students from across the district: Oksana Ferenchuk, Best of Show; Mary Nyhus, First Runner Up; Rachel Cross; Dylan Upchurch, Second Runner-Up; Hannah Middleton; Allie Heffington; Bonnie Wakefield; Mila Lance; Savannah Stone; and Emalee Blevins.

The evening also featured the openings of NSEW: What Grew Us, A National Undergraduate Exhibit featuring work from across the United States and an encore presentation of Eye Candy, the work of Laura Brake, Carmen Elkins, Noelle Yeargins, Josh Petty, Alex Otarola, Allison Ford, and Kayla Connelly.


Read more from:
Art Competition, Congressman Scott DeJarlais, MTSU, U.S. 4th District, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: