A local business in Murfreesboro is celebrating their 135th anniversary. In 1879, Mr. William R. Bell opened the doors of Bell Jewelers at 8 North Public Square in downtown Murfreesboro, TN. It is likely that Mr. Bell would be pleased to know the business' doors remain open today – 135 years later- making it the oldest known continuous retail business in Murfreesboro, TN.
The original owner died in 1937, but the store's operation was picked up by Mr. Bell's son, James G. Bell, who died at a relatively young age in 1949. In June of '49, the store was sold to John & Cleon Dixon and their two silent partners, V.L. Jennings, Sr. and V.L. Jennings, Jr. of Lebanon, TN. In the 1950's the store made a move to include fine china and gifts along with fine diamond jewelry.
In 1973, Blake and Lee Tidwell purchased the store with partner Bill McKenzie. In 1976, the Tidwell’s purchased McKenzie's interest. In 1986, Bell Jewelers, because of the gemological expertise and fine ethical reputation, earned membership in the distinguished American Gem Society. Since that time daughter Lisa Tidwell Halliburton and son Greg Tidwell have joined the family business. In March of 2007, Lisa and Greg became the proud owners of Bell Jewelers.
Since the Tidwells took over, not only have they kept the reputation of carrying fine quality jewelry and gifts, but they have added the gemological expertise unique to most jewelry stores today.
Preparing to continue to grow in the new millennium and keeping up with Murfreesboro's booming economy, the Tidwell family felt the need for a larger showroom with convenient front door parking for their customers. So on August 4, 1998, Bell Jewelers closed the location at 8 North Public Square and opened their doors at 821 N.W. Broad Street- the former home of Tommy Stump's Exxon Station and across from Jackson Heights Plaza.
821 N.W. Broad Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Local Phone Number: 615-893-9162
Toll Free Number: 1-866-893-9162