Peace Officers Memorial Day in Murfreesboro - Chief Chrisman remembers officers who died and how

  Email   Print
All pictures by WGNS' Bryan Barrett

The Police Officer Memorial Service was held in Murfreesboro on Tuesday.

Murfreesboro Police Chief Glen Chrisman highlighted the names of those killed in the line of duty in Rutherford County (1min and 38sec)...


State Senator Jim Tracy stated...


The event was on the Murfreesboro Civic Plaza. The purpose of the ceremony was to remember and pay tribute to all law enforcement officers who made the ultimate sacrifice while serving in Rutherford County.


Peace Officers Memorial Day and Police Week are observances in the United States that pay tribute to fallen officers. The day was created in 1962 when Congress asked President John F. Kennedy to honor the nation’s law enforcement officers. According to a 2002 proclamation by President George W. Bush, “Peace Officers Memorial Day and Police Week pay tribute to local, state, and federal law enforcement officers who serve and protect us with courage and dedication.”

Officers honored in Rutherford County include:

  • William H. James (1942)
  • Herbert McClanahan (1946)
  • Samuel Enoch Vaughn (1953)
  • Lewis Hendon (1957)
  • Joseph Tomlinson (1999)
  • Kay Rogers (2005)
  • Byron Motley (2006)
  • Matt Lovejoy (2007)
  • Andy Wall (2011)

PEACE OFFICERS MEMORIAL SERVICE 2014 (Entire Service Unedited)

Read more from:
deceased officers in Murfreesboro, fallen officers in Murfreesboro, Memorial Service, Murfreesboro Police, Murfreesboro Police Officers killed, Murfreesboro Police Peace, Murfreesboro Police Service, Peace Officers
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: