Preliminary Results of Tuesday Night Election

  Email   Print

In the Tuesday night Rutherford County Primary election, County Mayor Ernest Burgess will hold on to his seat beating out Jimmy Evans. Burgess had a little over 58% of the votes by the end of the night. In the race for Sheriff, incumbent Robert Arnold will continue in the race, beating out former Sheriff’s Department employee Bob Asbury.  

In some of the other races that have been highly discussed in recent weeks, Melissa Harrell won the race for Circuit Court Clerk. Harrell came out ahead of incumbent Laura Bohling and candidate Lance Jenkins.

For County Clerk, Heather Dawbarn won her seat beating out former County Commissioner Steve Sandlin. Sandlin, who decided not to run again for Commission in order to run for County Clerk, was a commissioner for the past 24-years. In fact, he was elected at age 24. Dawbarn also beat candidate Rusty Dallas.

All of the winning candidates will continue the race in August, running against a list of names with an I for Independent or D for Democrat next to them. The state, federal and county “General Election” will be held on August 7, 2014.


For the full breakdown of the Tuesday night results: CLICK HERE

For a look at who will be running in the August race with tonight's winners: CLICK HERE


Read more from:
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: