RCS students Named Semifinalists by National Merit Program

  Email   Print
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named 14 students from Rutherford County Schools as semifinalists in the 58th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program.
The students join 16,000 semifinalists nationwide and these academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.
To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
National Merit Scholarship winners of 2013 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 291,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.
The following students from Rutherford County Schools were named semifinalists:
Blackman High School
Nathaniel J. Sherman
Central Magnet School
Sydney A. Bouldin
Madeline M. Davis
Hayley K. Klumpe
Oakland High School
Connor R. Thompson
Siegel High School
Nicholas A. Diliberti
Lindsey M. Kirk
Darby E. McCarthy
Jacob D. Schultz
Zachery T. Smith
Nainika Sudheendra
John T. Sulkowski
Smyrna High School
Matthew A. Martinez
Harrison T. Smith
Read more from:
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: