Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame to be at MTSU

  Email   Print
(Above Photo L-R) Dr. Sidney McPhee, Ron Fryar, Tommy Bragg, John Hood, and Peter Demos.

A group of past and present media executives and practitioners were at MTSU's College of Mass Communications Friday (10/19/2012) to announce the creation of the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame.  It will be housed in the new multi-media facility. 

Murfreesboro Mayor Tommy Bragg said . . .  

The building in which Mass Communications is housed is named to honor his father, State Representative John Bragg, who also was well known as an owner and editor in the newspaper business. 


MTSU President Sidney McPhee commented, "The hall of fame will serve as an inspiration to MTSU media students."

Mass Communication Dean Roy Moore said that the first class of inductees will be announced this coming April as a part of the university's annual academic awards ceremonies.


Left photo (L-R): Dr. Sidney McPhee and Murfreesboro Mayor Tommy Bragg share ideas during the Journalism Hall of Fame announcement in the College of Mass Communications.

MTSU President Sidney McPhee said . . .

Dr. Moore noted, "Tennessee has a rich heritage of outstanding electronic and print journalists. We're extremely pleased to have the opportunity to host the hall of fame at MTSU."

Both living and deceased journalists are eligible for being named to the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame. It includes all media and has the backing and involvement of the Tennessee Association of Broadcasters and the Tennessee Press Association.

WGNS News will keep you informed of the activities of the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame.

CLICK to hear the complete program from MTSU at 10:00 o'clock Friday morning, October 19, 2012.



Read more from:
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: