UPDATE: Peace Officers Memorial Ceremony

  Email   Print
Honor guards with the Memorial Wreath at the 2017 Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony on the Murfreesboro Civic Plaza.
These officers represent all agencies in Rutherford County.
A cross-section of local officers prepare to honor fallen peace officers.
This allows you to see an overview of the Thursday morning, May 18, 2017, memorial ceremony.
The flag raising ceremony.
Murfreesboro Police Officer Skylar Harris sings the National Anthem.
Murfreesboro Police Chief Karl Durr welcomes everyone to the Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony.
Murfreesboro Mayor Shane McFarland presents Chief Durr with a proclamation from the Murfreesboro City Council.
Murfreesboro Mayor Shane McFarland was the keynote speaker.
Piper Todd Boswell
Officer takes a rose from the table and places it beside the empty shoes, rifle and hat that commemorates one of the fallen peace officers.
After placing the rose, the deceased officer receives a salute.
Tennessee Highway Patrol Lt. Colonel John Albertson presents Chief Durr with a Proclamation from the Tennessee Senate.
Officers from all agencies in Rutherford County give a 21-gun salute.
Todd Boswell plays TAPS.
The board showing the nine officers who have made the supreme sacrifice locally, along with the Memorial Wreath.
This is the empty shoes, rifle and cap that signifies the officers who have made the supreme sacrifice.

Almost like waving a wand over the downtown area, the sounds of a bustling city seemed to fade into the background with the tolling of a bell precisely at 9:00 o'clock Thursday morning (5/18/2017). That's when the annual Peace Officers Memorial Ceremony took place on the Civic Plaza in front of the Murfreesboro City Hall.

Under sunny skies with temperatures in the mid 70s, this community will said "thank you" to law enforcement officers--especially those who have made the supreme sacrifice.

Murfreesboro Polie Captain Cary Gensemer served as host of the memorial tribute, and Officer Skylar Harris sang the National Anthem.


Murfreesboro Mayor Shane McFarland was the keynote speaker.

Over the decades, nine officers have made given their all while serving the members of our community:


  • Trooper William H. James, Tennessee Highway Patrol, September 14, 1942
  • Officer Herbert McClanahan, Murfreesboro Police Department, December 16, 1946
  • Deputy Marshal Sam Vaughn, US Marshall Service, August 8, 1953
  • Trooper Lewis R. Hendon, Tennessee Highway Patrol, June 15, 1957
  • Officer Joseph "Butch" Tomlinson Jr., Murfreesboro Police Department, October 28, 1999
  • Officer Kay Rogers, Murfreesboro Police Department, November 9, 2005
  • Captain Byron Motley, Murfreesboro Police Department, July 22, 2006
  • Officer Matt Lovejoy, Murfreesboro Police Department, June 22, 2007
  • Trooper Andy Wall, Tennessee Highway Patrol, May 7, 2011

Hear the WGNS' broadcast from the Murfreesboro Civic Plaza

(Playing Time: 26-minutes)

Read more from:
2017, 9:00AM May 18, Murfreesboro Civic Plaza, Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: