11 Cadets to be Commissioned as U.S. Army Second Lieutenants on Friday at MTSU

  Email   Print

Eleven cadets in the MTSU Military Science ROTC program will be commissioned as U.S. Army second lieutenants starting at 10 a.m. Friday, May 10, at the Veterans Memorial site, adjacent  to the Tom H. Jackson Building. 

MTSU alumnus and U.S. Army Brig. Gen. Terry A. Ethridge will serve as guest speaker. He is director of the joint staff for the Tennessee National Guard.

In addition to the cadets being commissioned on Friday, MTSU will award an estimated 2,642 degrees during its two spring 2013 commencement ceremonies this Saturday, May 11, in Hale Arena inside Murphy Center.


The morning ceremony begins at 9 a.m. sharp on May 11. The afternoon ceremony begins at 2 p.m. Each ceremony is expected to last about two hours.
Gov. Bill Haslam is the guest speaker for the morning ceremony, and MTSU alumnus Pete Fisher, vice president/general manager for the Grand Ole Opry, will speak at the afternoon ceremony. President Sidney A. McPhee and other MTSU officials also will speak briefly to graduates during the ceremonies.
For the first time in the university’s history, MTSU will present honorary doctorates to two of its most esteemed alumni: former U.S. Congressman Bart Gordon and the late Nobel laureate Dr. James M. Buchanan. Gordon’s presentation will occur during the morning ceremony, while Buchanan’s family will accept his honorary doctorate at the afternoon event.
Where to Park:

A printable campus map is available online at http://tinyurl.com/MTParkingMap12-13.



News and Media Relations contact: Randy Weiler

MTSU Military Science contact: Lt. Col. Joel Miller 

Gina E. Fann, News Content Manager of MTSU
Read more from:
Army Commission ceremony, MTSU News, Murfreesboro news
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: