6 Communicators Inducted Into TN Journalism Hall of Fame

  Email   Print
Tennessee Journlism Hall of Fame founder Hooper Penuel welcomes guests to the 2016 Induction Ceremony and Banquet. The delicious dinner was provided by Peter D's.
(L-R) Darrell Patterson and Doug Combs
Thanks to the leadership of Hooper Penuel, one of the group's founders, the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame inducted its fourth class on Thursday evening, December 8, 2016.
Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame President Dr. Larry Burriss.
MTSU's Dean of the College of Media and Entertainment Ken Paulson
Tennessee Press Association President Ron Fryar
Tennessee Association of Broadcasters President Whit Adamson
WSMV News Anchor Demetria Kalodimos served as emcee. Later she was surprised to learn that she too was a member of the 2016 class of Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame inductees.
2016 inductee Tom Britt with WBBJ-TV in Jackson, TN.
2016 inductee Hudley Crockett, a native of Rutherford County, worked at radio stations in North Carolina, New Mexico and Alabama before returning to Tennessee where he graduated from West High in Nashville. He was sports director for WSIX radio and TV.
Monte Hale, Jr. accepts his dad's award posthumously.
(L-R) Rebecca Hagan, Mark Hood and John Hood
Monte Hale, Jr. looks at the award that was given posthumously to his father, Monte Hale, Sr., and reflects back on those happy years.
2016 inductee John Hood shared his memories about Murfreesboro.
2016 inductee Darrell Patterson who retired in 2013. He was the sports director for WTVC-TV in Chattanooga.
WSMV-TV News Anchor Demetria Kalodimos was surprised when she learned that she too was being inducted into the 2016 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame. She had been the emcee for the program before being named to the class as well.
(L-R) Local Author and Journalist Dan Whittle surprised Demetria Kalodimos with the news that she too was a 2016 inductee.
(L-R) Hooper Penuel talks on WGNS with Bart Walker.
The Monte Hale family
Tennessee Radio Hall of Fame board members who attended the Journalism induction.
WGNS' Bart and Lee Ann Walker
Monte Hale, Jr. with his daughter Kayla.
(L-R) Bill Smotherman, Nelson Smotherman, and Bart Walker.
2016 inductee Tom Britt is congratulated by many. He retired from WBBJ-TV in Jackson as their news anchor.
(L-R) Jimmy Earle, Bill Smotherman, and Nelson Smotherman.
Inductee Darrell Patterson (WTVC-TV Chattanooga) is congratulated by many.
Congratulation to the 2016 TN Journalism Hall of Fame inductees: (L-R) Monte Hale, Jr. (accepting award for his late father), Demetria Kalodimos, Tom Britt, Hudley Crockett, Darrell Patterson, and John Hood.

The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame held its Fourth Annual Induction Ceremony and banquet Thursday (12/8/2016) night at the Murfreesboro Association of Realtors Training Center at 311 Butler Drive.

Middle Tennessee State University's Dean of the College of Media and Entertainment Ken Paulson noted that before our founding fathers would sign the Constitution, that they insisted on a guarantee of having a free press . . .

(Time 19-seconds)


Channel 4 News Anchor Demetria Kalodimos served as the emcee. After the five inductees were honored, Dan Whittle stepped forward and noted there was a sixth recipient and told about the WSMV personality. She was visually emotional as stories of her career were shared.

Congratulation 2016 Inductees


  • Tom Britt, News Producer/Anchor/Reporter, WBBJ-TV, Jackson.

  • Hudley Crockett, Former News Director, Anchor, Producer, WSIX-TV (WKRN) and Press Secretary for Tennessee Gov. Bufford Ellington, Nashville, and Rutherford County native and resident.

  • Monte Hale, Sr. Sports Director/Announcer WGNS Radio, Murfreesboro. It was awarded posthumously and received by his son Monte, Jr.

  • John D. Hood, Director of Government and Community Affairs, MTSU, Former Tennessee State Representative, Popular Master of Ceremonies and Radio Station WGNS News and Program Director, Murfreesboro.

  • Darrell Patterson, Sports Director/Anchor WTVC-TV, Channel 9, Chattanooga.

  • Demetria Kalodimos, News Anchor WSMV-TV, Channel 4, Nashville.

One of the founding leaders of the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame Hooper Penuel said that the honorees do much for their communities. He continued . . .

(Time: 20-seconds)

The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame is centered in the John Bragg Mass Communications building on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University. A listing of previous Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame inductees may be found at www.tnjournalismhof.org. The Tennessee Journalism Hall of fame is a 501c3 not for profit organization.

Public Encouraged To Submit 2017 Nominations

Inductees into the 2017 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame (TJHOF) are being accepted now through June 1, 2017. Think about someone who has made significant and substantial contributions to the profession during a career that includes the practice of journalism in print, broadcast, and new media.Downloadable Nomination FormHonorees may be living or deceased, native Tennesseans who spent much of their career out of state or non-natives who spent a substantial portion of their career in Tennessee.To be considered for induction, individuals must have distinguished themselves through news or business management, leadership in the industry, or in the ordinary practice of journalism, and those whose contributions have otherwise been recognized by their peers.Inductees would come from various ranks to include, reporters, writers, editors, publishers, news directors and other managers, as well as those who have excelled in advertising, public relations, and education of those disciplines.Again, nominations for the 2017 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame should be submitted by June 1, 2017.
Read more from:
2016, Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: