6 Communicators Inducted Into TN Journalism Hall of Fame

The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame held its Fourth Annual Induction Ceremony and banquet Thursday (12/8/2016) night at the Murfreesboro Association of Realtors Training Center at 311 Butler Drive.

Middle Tennessee State University's Dean of the College of Media and Entertainment Ken Paulson noted that before our founding fathers would sign the Constitution, that they insisted on a guarantee of having a free press . . .

(Time 19-seconds)

Channel 4 News Anchor Demetria Kalodimos served as the emcee. After the five inductees were honored, Dan Whittle stepped forward and noted there was a sixth recipient and told about the WSMV personality. She was visually emotional as stories of her career were shared.

Congratulation 2016 Inductees

  • Tom Britt, News Producer/Anchor/Reporter, WBBJ-TV, Jackson.

  • Hudley Crockett, Former News Director, Anchor, Producer, WSIX-TV (WKRN) and Press Secretary for Tennessee Gov. Bufford Ellington, Nashville, and Rutherford County native and resident.

  • Monte Hale, Sr. Sports Director/Announcer WGNS Radio, Murfreesboro. It was awarded posthumously and received by his son Monte, Jr.

  • John D. Hood, Director of Government and Community Affairs, MTSU, Former Tennessee State Representative, Popular Master of Ceremonies and Radio Station WGNS News and Program Director, Murfreesboro.

  • Darrell Patterson, Sports Director/Anchor WTVC-TV, Channel 9, Chattanooga.

  • Demetria Kalodimos, News Anchor WSMV-TV, Channel 4, Nashville.

One of the founding leaders of the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame Hooper Penuel said that the honorees do much for their communities. He continued . . .

(Time: 20-seconds)

The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame is centered in the John Bragg Mass Communications building on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University. A listing of previous Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame inductees may be found at www.tnjournalismhof.org. The Tennessee Journalism Hall of fame is a 501c3 not for profit organization.

Public Encouraged To Submit 2017 Nominations

Inductees into the 2017 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame (TJHOF) are being accepted now through June 1, 2017. Think about someone who has made significant and substantial contributions to the profession during a career that includes the practice of journalism in print, broadcast, and new media.Downloadable Nomination FormHonorees may be living or deceased, native Tennesseans who spent much of their career out of state or non-natives who spent a substantial portion of their career in Tennessee.To be considered for induction, individuals must have distinguished themselves through news or business management, leadership in the industry, or in the ordinary practice of journalism, and those whose contributions have otherwise been recognized by their peers.Inductees would come from various ranks to include, reporters, writers, editors, publishers, news directors and other managers, as well as those who have excelled in advertising, public relations, and education of those disciplines.Again, nominations for the 2017 Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame should be submitted by June 1, 2017.