Best Public School Art Reception Thursday At MTSU

  Email   Print

There is a reception from 4:00 to 6:00 this Thursday afternoon at MTSU's Todd Art Gallery. It is an invitational exhibition of artwork from students of Murfreesboro City and Rutherford County Schools. The 2nd Annual Winner's Circle exhibit features student artwork from kindergarten through the twelfth grades, and runs now though May 29th.

Based on "E Pluribus Unum; From Many, One," the exhibit's organizers asked each district's art teachers to select their student's best work based on curriculum requirements as influenced by the theme's current cultural understanding that from many peoples, races, and religions the United States is one representative nation.

Each year the Murfreesboro City Hall Art Committee in collaboration with each district's administration hosts a Murfreesboro City Schools and a Rutherford County Schools Art Competition that is held as separate events in the Rotunda of Murfreesboro City Hall. An award's reception culminates those competitions with this year's Master of Ceremonies, Murfreesboro Mayor Shane McFarland presenting a Best of Show, and First, Second, Third, and Honorable Mention awards across several categories to students.


The Winner's Circle, now in its second edition is the MTSU Department of Art's contribution to the collaboration that also includes the Murfreesboro Peace and Justice Art Committee. The exhibit is composed of those winning works from the Rotunda competitions held last February and April. A new feature added this year's Circle is the further jurying of the collective group of art to determine the Best of the Best. In addition to an MTSU Arts Best of Show award, a Circle Best Artwork of City Schools and County Schools will be featured. Further awards include the True Blue Awards presented to the pieces that most represent certain criteria such as most original or best interpretive. A first, second, third, and honorable mention award will also be handed out across the exhibit's four age groups.

This year's Winner's Circle jurors represent an impressive array of artistic talent and include: Ray Allen, Shawn Baughman, Norris Hall, Mai Hamric, Kim Garrett, and Noel Lorson. Mark Byrnes, Dean of the MTSU College of Liberal Arts will serve as Master of Ceremonies with brief remarks offered from art faculty Noel Lorson and Art Chair Jean Nagy. The City Hall Art Committee will recognize a city and county Art Patron of the Year with this year's jurors and dignitaries present acknowledged.


Read more from:
MTSU, Murfreesboro City Schools, Rutherford County Schools, Todd Art Gallery, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: