Five Local Semifinalists for Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards

  Email   Print

Five local prep football players are semifinalists for the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards.

Oakland's Ty Nix has been nominated as one of four Class 6A Linemen of the Year semifinalists. Two of the four semifinalists for Class 6A Back of the Year are from Rutherford County. Oakland's Jacoby Stevens and Blackman's Taeler Dowdy were nominated for 6A Lineman of the Year. La Vergne's Maleik Gray is a semifinalist for 5A Lineman of the year.In addition, Siegel kicker Jacob Smith is nominated for Kicker of the Year in all classifications.

The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top 16 backs and linemen in eight classifications of the TSSAA on Monday, November 30th at Nissan Stadium in Nashville.


Two finalists for each category will be announced by Mike Keith on the Titans website on Monday, November 16th at 1:00 p.m. The two finalists for each award will be the ones invited to attend the awards luncheon at Nissan Stadium, where the winner of each award will be announced.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2015 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.


This is the 31st year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee's best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the runner-up in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate.

Read more from:
Jacob Smith, Jacoby Stevens, Mr. Football, prep football, Taeler Dowdy, Tennessee Titans, TSSAA, Ty Nix
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: