Jones, Jennings named Mr. Football finalists

  Email   Print

Murfreesboro made it sweep on Monday when the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football were announced at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

Blackman senior quarterback Jauan Jennings was named the Class AAA back of the year, while Oakland senior offensive lineman Jack Jones earned AAA lineman of the year for the second consecutive year.

Jones has already signed with Tennessee, and will graduate early and enroll at UT in January. Jennings is a UT commitment.


Approximately 600 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the luncheon.

"This is such an outstanding honor for all 33 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards," said Bernard Childress, executive director of the TSSAA. "They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements."


High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2014 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

The Titans became sponsor of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.

Other winners included:

Zach Stewart (Coalfield), Class A lineman

Kyle Akin (Trinity Christian), Class A back

Paker Howell (CPA), Class AA lineman

Ke'Shawn Vaughn (Pearl-Cohn), Class AA back

Brant Mitchell (Knoxville Webb), Division II-A lineman

Clay Beathard (BGA), Division II-A back

Drew Richmond (MUS), Division II-AA lineman

Cole Euverard (MBA), Division II-AA back

Laszlo Toser (Ootlewah), Kicker of the Tear

Read more from:
Mr. Football, prep football, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: