Local resident to face 5th DUI Charge
Monday, June 5, 2017 8:13 am
A local man will face his 5th DUI charge in court on Monday, June 12, 2017.
John William Bates, who was charged last year with his 5th DUI by a Tennessee State Trooper, will appear before Circuit Court Judge David Bragg on the 12th for his hearing.
Bates, who last lived in the LaVergne area, will also face a charge for reckless driving and driving on a suspended license.
The DUI suspect remains behind bars at this time.
What happens after the 4th DUI?
In Tennessee, the fourth DUI and any DUI after the fourth is considered a class E felony. A class E felony requires the convicted offender to serve a minimum of 150-consecutive days in jail. There is also a mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000. The culprits vehicle can also be seized and the offenders drivers license can be revoked for 5-years. In fact, the offender can have his or her vehicle seized after only the second charge of DUI.
Circuit Course Docket for 6/12/17