Martin Luther King, Jr. Breakfast--the DREAM lives on!

  Email   Print
Malcolm Dorsey, president of the Murfreesboro-Rutherford County Youth Council.
Guest Speaker: Elder Tyron R. Carter, Jr., with the Mount Zion Baptist Church in Nashville.
Sandra Kelton
Hero Award winner Douglas Inglish
Hero winners from Murfreesboro Fire and Rescue Department: Capt. Tony Lehew, Firefighters Melvin Holmes, Ryan Battle and Ben Honeycutt.
(L-R) Veteran Hero Award winner James Hershel Newsom, Jr. (US Army retired) and his son.
(Center) Humanitarian recipient Martha Cook with The Hope Christian Center.
Rev. Ernest Newsom, humanitarian award winner.
(Center) Cynthia Lyons-Wilson (Humanitarian Award recipient).
(L-R) Larry Flowers and Katie Wilson
Rev. Ernest Newsom, humanitarian award winner.
MTSU NAACP President Malik Lennon
(L-R) Katie Wilson, Larry Flowers, and Florence Smith.
(L-R) Katie Wilson, Larry Flowers, Vonchelle Stembridge, and Florence Smith.
Rev. Donald Whitmore (center) and his sons
The "Jerry Anderson Hero Award" recipients for 2017 are (L-R) Pump Engineer Doug Inglish, Captain Tony Lehew, Firefighters Melvin Holmes (his daughter stood in for him), Ryan Battle and Ben Honeycutt.
Cynthia Lyons-Wilson, humanitarian award winner.
HUMANITARIUN AWARD recipients (L-R) Martha Cook, Bart Walker, Ernest Newsom, and Cynthia Lyons-Wilson
WKRN's Larry Flowers served as emcee.
James Hershel Newsom, Jr., US Army retired
Rev. Ernest Newsom and family
Rev. Donald Whitmore
Pastor David Settles
MTSU President Sidney McPhee
WGNS' Bart Walker, humanitarian award winner.
Murfreesboro City Councilman Kirt Wade
Rutherford County Mayor Ernest Burgess
Albert Richardson, Jr.

The Tennessee Room in MTSU's James Union Building was packed Saturday morning (1/14/2017) for the Martin Luther King, Jr. Breakfast sponsored by the Murfreesboro branch of the NAACP.

The morning included inspiring much feauring Pastor David Settles singing "The Battle Hymn of the Republic" and later Albert Richardson, Jr. stirred hearts with "We Shall Overcome". Everyone in attendance stood and sang "Lift Ev'ry Voice and Sing".

Then there was silence as Revered Donald Whitmore, with Murfreesboro's True Gospel Missionary Baptist Church, did a portion of Dr. King's "I Have A Dream" speech.


(Time: 2-minutes, 47-seconds)

Jerry Anderson Hero Award Recipients


  1. Murfreesboro Fire and Rescue
    1. Captain Tony Lehew
    2. Firefighter Melvin Holmes
    3. Firefighter Ryan Battle
    4. Firefighter Ben Honeycutt
    5. Pump Engineer Douglas Inglish

  2. Veteran James Hershel Newsom, Jr. (US Army retired)

Jerry Anderson Humanitarian Award Recipients

  1. Martha Cook (The Hope Christian Center)
  2. Cynthia Wilson (F.A.I.T.H. Awards of Murfreesboro)
  3. Chaplain Ernest Newsom (USNR retired, saxophonist, past NAACP president)
  4. Bart Walker (Good Neighbor Station--WGNS)

Membership Award

Membership Committee Chair Florence Smith honored the NAACP member who recruited the most new members this year to the Murfreesboro branch of the NAACP. The recipient was local educator Vonchelle Stembridge. It was also Ms. Stembridge's birthday, and a brief happy birthday song was heard during the applause.

MLK March on Monday

Murfreesboro NAACP President Katie Wilson reminded everyone that the Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. March from Central Magnet School to the Patterson Community Center will begin at noon this coming Monday (1/16/2017). Special programs will begin at 1:00 o'clock Monday at the Patterson Center. This is all free and open to the community.

Wilson encouraged those who plan to be a part of the March, to arrive early and enjoy breakfast there starting around 10:00 o'clock.

Recording of entire program

(Time: 1-hour, 26-minutes)

Read more from:
Jr. Breakfast, MLK, MTSU, Murfreesboro NAACP, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: