Stones River Chamber Players 7:30PM Monday Night at MTSU

  Email   Print

At 7:30 this Monday evening, you should be at MTSU's Wright Music Building for "Spring Stretto", a free public concert that features the Stones River Chamber Players.

They will perform new musical works by two MTSU professors alongside classics by legendary Austrian composer Franz Schubert and Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů.

Music faculty Michael Parkinson, Brian Mueller and Tisha Simeral will perform "Lullaby for Michelle" with Parkinson on trumpet, Mueller on vibraphone and Simeral on Bass. Osterfield created the piece for his daughter, who was born in 2013.


Simmons composed "Musical Postcards From God's Country" during family outings to the Rocky Mountains, Appalachian Trail and Oregon and in tribute to environmentalist John Muir. He'll be joined in the performance by Michael Arndt on trumpet, Ben Miles on tuba, David Loucky on trombone, Don Aliquo on saxophone and Angela Tipps on the organ.

Soprano Dina Cancryn, clarinetist Todd Waldecker and pianist Adam Clark will perform Schubert's "The Shepherd on the Rock, D. 965," which Arunesh Nadgir, MTSU piano professor and co-director of the Stones River Chamber Players, called "a beautiful and powerful piece."


Rounding out the program is Martinů's "Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Cello and Piano," performed by Laura Ann Ross on oboe, Andrea Dawson on violin, Christine Kim on cello and Clark on piano. Martinů created the piece while in exile in the United States in 1947, Ross said.

You can listen to streaming audio performances by the Stones River Chamber Players at For details on more MTSU School of Music performances, call 615-898-2493 or visit and click on the "Concert Calendar" link.

Read more from:
MTSU, Stones River Chamber Players, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: