TSSAA Votes to Revise Playoff System, Starting in 2015

  Email   Print

The TSSAA Board of Control voted Monday to use the alternate 6-class plan for football classification for the remainder of the current classification period for schools in Division I. That means starting next year and through the 2016-2017 school year, the 32 largest schools based on enrollment will be placed in Class 6A. All 32 will automatically qualify for the playoffs. The remaining schools will be put in five classes, divided evenly based on their enrollment figures, and qualify for the playoffs as they did in the old 5-class system. The top 4 teams in each region (8 regions per class) will qualify for the playoffs. Based on enrollment and projections for next year, all of Rutherford County's 7-AAA schools would be placed in the new 6A classification.

Read more from:
6A, playoffs, Rutherford County football, TSSAA, WGNS, WGNS News, WGNS Sports
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: