WGNS told you about two men who were charged with their 4th DUI or greater this past weekend in Rutherford County (See story here). We later learned on Monday that FOUR more individuals are facing their 4th DUI charge in court later this month in Rutherford County as well.
On Tuesday, Tina Marie Dedmond will appear in General Sessions Court to face the charge of DUI number 4. Andrew James Burns will then appear in court on June 7th to face not only a 4th DUI charge, but also a charge for driving on a revoked license and violation of the implied consent law. Lawrence Wesley Wright will also appear before Judge Bragg on the 7th, where he too will face his 4th DUI charge. Court documents further show that Virginia Johnson will be in court on the 7th too for a 4th offense charge of DUI.
In Tennessee, the fourth DUI and any DUI after the fourth is considered a class E felony. A class E felony requires the convicted offender to serve a minimum of 150-consecutive days in jail. There is also a mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000. The culprits vehicle can also be seized and the offenders drivers license can be revoked for 5-years. In fact, the offender can have his or her vehicle seized after only the second charge of DUI.