Who Made the Deadline for August 4th Elections

Who Made the Deadline for August 4th Elections | election, primary, August 4th primary, Rutherford County Election Commission

The deadline has come and gone for those planning to seek office for positions that will be on the August 4th ballot. The deadline to file to run for various offices was noon Thursday.

Only three qualified for three seats up for the Murfreesboro City Council. Incumbents Eddie Smotherman and Bill Shacklett are joined by Kirt Wade on the ballot.

City School Board incumbent chairman Butch Campbell and incumbent Jared Barrett face re-election against Wesley Ballard, Novonda Lilly and David Settles.

There will be only one contested race for Rutherford County School Board. Zone 6 incumbent Jeff Jordan is being challenged by David Sevier.

Doug Bodary is challenging incumbent "Bubba" Jones for Road Board, Zone 3.

In state legislative races, Republican incumbent Jim Tracy will face a challenge from two GOP candidates for his District 14 seat. Steve Lane and Matt Randolph both filed by the deadline, as did Democrat Gayle Jordan.

In state House races, the open seat of Rick Womick in the 34th District will be up for grabs. Republicans Joshua James, Jimmy Turner, Tim Rudd and Christy Sigler are seeking the nomination to face Democrat Laura Bohling.

In District 49, incumbent Republican Mike Sparks faces a primary challenge from Aaron Holladay for the right to face Democrat Brandon Thomas.

Republican incumbents Dawn White in District 37 and Dr. Bryan Terry in District 48 will face Democratic challengers. Becky Goff has filed to run against White while Justin Miller will face Terry.