2016 City School's TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

  Email   Print
(L-R) Dr. Tammy Garrett, Principal Dr. Linda Gilbert, Director of Schools Meredith Gilliland, District Teacher of the Year Collier Smith, School Board Member Addie Meredith - daughter
(L-R) Laurie Offutt, Principal Dr. Linda Gilbert, Director of Schools Julie Parrish, District Teacher of the Year Collier Smith, School Board Member

Murfreesboro City Schools is proud to announce the 2016 Teachers of the Year. Teachers from each school were nominated for the prestigious education award given by the Tennessee Department of Education.

The 2016 System Level recipients for Murfreesboro City Schools are:

  • Julie Parish - Kindergarten Teacher at Reeves-Rogers Elementary
  • Meredith Gilliland - Fifth Grade Teacher at Hobgood Elementary

Building Level Teacher of the Year recipients include:





Grades 5-6

Black Fox Elementary

Deeann Stephens

Sanita Smith

Bradley Academy

Stephanie Turner

Rebecca Few

Mitchell-Neilson School

Rachel Prater

Matt Clarady

Scales Elementary

Beverly Soapes

Xan Laskco

Hobgood Elementary

Cheri Purdie

Meredith Gilliland

Cason Lane Academy

Carrie Smith

Elizabeth Shepherd

Erma Siegel Elementary

Rachel Haynes

Angela Pope

Overall Creek Elementary

Jennifer DeFere

Luke Hill

Discovery School

Jenny Newsome

Charlotte Young

Northfield Elementary

Mary Orcutt

Kelley Ruth

John Pittard Elementary

Spring Harris

Kenne McWhorter

Reeves-Rogers Elementary

Julie Parrish

Erin Lebo

"It is a pleasure to recognize and celebrate exceptionally skilled educators," says Linda Gilbert, MCS Director of Schools. "These recipients are passionate about their work and the children they serve. They personify the definition of an exemplary educator."

Teacher of the Year nominees are selected by their peers and must meet selection criteria. An important qualification in being selected as Teacher of the Year is the ability to inspire learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. The teachers will be honored on March 15.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year program is designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers, to stimulate interest in teaching as a career, and to encourage public involvement in education.

Murfreesboro City Schools is a district of twelve schools committed to the academic and personal success of each child.


Read more from:
2016, Murfreesboro City School, Teacher of the Year, WGNS
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: