The new legislation that allows individuals to carry a firearm without a permit in Tennessee went into effect on July 1st. Police warn the new law may not allow an individual to carry their handgun into neighboring states, if the individual doesn’t have a Tennessee Carry Permit.
Before openly carrying a firearm in Tennessee without a permit, you should learn the law inside and out...
Keep in mind to carry a firearm, there are a number of previous arrests that could prohibit you from legally doing so. This list includes not having a DUI conviction in the past 5-years and not having 2 or more DUI convictions in the past 10-years.
Other details of the law show that the barrel of the gun you choose to carry, cannot extend 12-inches or more and you have to be age 21 or older, unless you are age 18 and in the military or you have been honorably discharged from the military. Again, these are only a few highlights of the law.
Read more details from the TN Firearms Association HERE. Read more about the bill HERE.