MT QB Stockstill named to Davey O'Brien list

  Email   Print

The Davey O'Brien Foundation unveiled the 2018 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, a group that includes 26 of the nation's top college quarterbacks and Middle Tennessee's Brent Stockstill is among the elite for the third straight year. On Monday, Stockstill was also named to the Maxwell Award Watch list.

Stockstill, a redshirt senior, enters his final season ranked first nationally among active NCAA players in passing yards per game (288.7), second in total offense (9,265), third in passing yards (8,951) and eighth in passing efficiency. He also owns MT career records in passing yards (8,951), touchdown passes (77), 300-yard passing games (14), 400-yard passing games (2), passing yards per game (288.7) and completions (729).

Stockstill missed six games last season due to an injury but came back to lead the Blue Raiders to a win over favored Arkansas State in the Camellia Bowl.

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, this year's list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2018 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at their current institution.

Thirteen seniors, 12 juniors and one sophomore comprise the list. Among leagues, the SEC led the way for the second straight season with a half-dozen selections. Six other conferences had multiple players named.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. Quarterbacks from all 130 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award.

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 6. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2018 Davey O'Brien Award winner will be announced live Thursday, Dec. 6 on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 2018 season marks the 12th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on Results from the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote will be combined with the ballots from the Selection Committee. Fan voting, which accounts for five percent of the total balloting, will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 4.

The 42nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 18, 2019, in Fort Worth, Texas.

2018 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List
Jake Bentley, South Carolina, (Jr., Opelika, Ala.)
Jake Browning, Washington (Sr., Folsom, Calif.)
Kelly Bryant, Clemson (Sr., Calhoun Falls, S.C.)
Mason Fine, North Texas (Jr., Peggs, Okla.)
Ryan Finley, NC State (Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.)
Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (Sr., Richmond Hill, Ga.)
Andrew Ford, UMass (Sr., Camp Hill, Penn.)
Jake Fromm, Georgia (So., Warner Robins, Ga.)
Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Justice Hansen, Arkansas State (Sr., Edmond, Okla.)
Justin Herbert, Oregon (Jr., Eugene, Ore.)
Alex Hornibrook, Wisconsin (Jr., West Chester, Penn.)
Jalen Hurts, Alabama (Jr., Houston, Texas)
Tyree Jackson, Buffalo (Jr., Norton Shores, Mich.)
Daniel Jones, Duke (Jr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Kyle Kempt, Iowa State (Sr., Massilon, Ohio)
Brian Lewerke, Michigan State (Jr., Phoenix, Ariz.)
Drew Lock, Missouri (Sr., Lee's Summit, Mo.)
Trace McSorley, Penn State (Sr., Ashburn, Va.)
McKenzie Milton, UCF (Jr., Kapolei, Hawaii)
Nathan Rourke, Ohio (Jr., Oakville, Ontario)
Brett Rypien, Boise State (Sr., Spokane, Wash.)
Jarrett Stidham, Auburn (Jr., Stephenville, Texas)
Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee (Sr., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
Khalil Tate, Arizona (Jr., Inglewood, Calif.)
Manny Wilkins, Arizona State (Sr., Novato, Calif.)

By Conference: SEC (6), Pac-12 (4), Big Ten (3), ACC (3), Big 12 (2), C-USA (2), MAC (2), AAC (1), MWC (1), Sun Belt (1), Independent (1).

By Class: Senior (13), Junior (12), Sophomore (1).

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


Read more from:
Brent Stockstill, Davey O'Brien Foundation, Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, Middle Tennessee State University, MTSU, Murfreesboro news
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: