New Murfreesboro City Council Members Sworn In

  Email   Print

Newly-elected Murfreesboro City Councilmembers Kirt Wade, Bill Shacklett, and Eddie Smotherman were officially sworn-in on Thursday night. General Sessions Judge Lisa Eischeid performed the official installation of the Oath of Office for the city council.

Kirt Wade, elected in August to a four-year term, fills the seat vacated by Ron Washington who resigned from the City Council Aug. 25 after 18 years of service. Wade had served on the Murfreesboro Planning Commission since 2011.

Bill Shacklett, also elected in August, had previously filled the seat vacated by Toby Gilley who resigned from the City Council Sept. 1, 2014 after being elected as a General Sessions judge. Shacklett previously served on the City Council from 2002 to 2006.


Eddie Smotherman, re-elected in August, was first elected in 2012 and along with Wade and Shacklett, will serve a new four-year term that expires in 2020.


Read more from:
Bill Shacklett, Eddie Smotherman, Kirt Wade, Murfreesboro, Murfreesboro City Council
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: