Perhaps Lionel Richie said it best…
A local resident cited for the 10th time for driving on a revoked license will soon appear in court to face the charges. The Murfreesboro Officer who filed the report 3-months ago wrote, “I initiated a traffic stop on above vehicle for a light violation. I made contact with driver Dannie Brumfield and a driver’s license check with 9 prior driving on revoked offenses (was revealed).” As a result he was officially charged for the 10th time with driving on a revoked license.
Different Driver in Tennessee Charged for 18th Time
We know what you’re thinking… being caught 10 times for driving on a revoked license is a bit extreme? Well, not quite. In March of 2013, a man was arrested in Johnson City, Tennessee and charged for the 18th time with driving on a revoked license. When you compare 18 to 10, 10 really pales in comparison.
You may be curious as to what the punishment can be for someone who is convicted of driving on a revoked license… it is usually (in most cases) a sentence of up to 48 hours behind bars. According to state law, driving on a revoked license is a class B misdemeanor. Sentencing for a class B misdemeanor will not be greater than six (6) months in jail and a fine will not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500), or both, unless otherwise provided by statute.
T.C.A. 55-12-131. Driving while license cancelled, suspended, or revoked -- Penalties.
Any person whose license, or driving privilege as a nonresident, has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked as provided in this chapter, and who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of the state while the license or privilege is cancelled, suspended, or revoked, commits a Class B misdemeanor.
HISTORY: Acts 1977, ch. 446, § 31; T.C.A., § 59-1281; Acts 1989, ch. 591, § 112.
Murfreesboro Police Arrest Report #13-6832
WCYB, Johnson City News
University of Tennessee, Knoxville “Law”