Possible change in Domestic Violence LAWS in Tennessee

  Email   Print

A bill filed in the Tennessee Legislature last week would do away with a loophole in the current domestic violence law. Right now, those accused of domestic abuse are required to stay in jail for a 12-hour "cooling off" period, but a judge has the right to waive that period if they choose.

The bill filed last Wednesday at the state capital by Republican State Rep. William Lamberth of the 44th district would take that ability away from judges, requiring the mandated 12-hour waiting period.

Source:

ADVERTISEMENT



Partner Station WMSR

Read more from:
News
Tags: 
cooling off, domestic violence, Murfreesboro news
Share: 
  Email   Print
Related Articles
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: