Rutherford County Emergency Telecommunicators Honored Thursday

Apr 14, 2017 at 08:57 am by bryan

Since being officially designated by Congress in 1991, public safety agencies across the country have recognized the instrumental role played by telecommunicators during National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week. Telecommunicators are the dedicated professionals who answer 9-1-1 calls, process requests for service, and utilize technical skills to provide communications support to law enforcement, fire and rescue departments, and emergency medical services. The second week of April is dedicated to America's "first first" responders" who serve as public safety telecommunicators.

The Rutherford County Emergency Communications District (RCECD) held an awards luncheon on Thursday, April 13th at the DoubleTree Hotel to honor telecommunicators who were recognized by their respective public safety agencies for exemplary service. Jeff Davidson, Deputy to the Mayor, Rutherford County, was the guest speaker and John Hood, RCECD Board Of Directors Treasurer, presented the awards.


"It has been a long-standing tradition that the Rutherford County Emergency Communications District Board of Directors has dedicated time each year to honor the outstanding men and women who answer the public's calls to 911 seeking help", said Steve Smith, RCECD Director.

The 2017 recipients of the Telecommunicator Awards are Beth Regan of the Rutherford County Sheriff's Department, Desir' Thorpe of the Murfreesboro Police Department, the entire communications staffs of the Smyrna Police and the LaVergne Police Departments, Trevor Cheney of the MTSU Police Department, and Suzie Cunningham of the Rutherford County Emergency Medical Service.

"The Rutherford County Emergency Communications District continues to ensure that our 911 public safety answering points are provided the most current 911 technologies available. The benefits of such technologies however, would not be fully realized without the dedicated service of those individuals recognized by their departments this week", said Smith.

Photo below by Lisa Marchesoni, Rutherford County Sheriff's Department.

From L to R: James Harrell, Andrea White, Jimmy Cardwell (representing the Lavergne Police Department), Trevor Cheney (MTSU Police Department), Beth Reagan (Rutherford County Sheriff's Department), Desir' Thorpe (Murfreesboro Police Department), Suzie Cunningham (Rutherford County Emergency Medical Services), Jelaine Nodine, Lindsey Lester, Tabitha Carter (representing the Smyrna Police Department).

Sections: News