Main Street Murfreesboro's ANNUAL MEETING

Feb 25, 2020 at 02:58 pm by bryan

(MURFREESBORO) It's hard to imagine that 35-years have passed since the Main Street Program stirred the excitement of downtown business owners and a passion to renovate the structures in the uptown area to their original beauty. Main Street Murfreesboro celebrated three and a half decades Tuesday with its Annual Meeting at the Carriage Lane Inn, 337 East Burton Street.

Downtown Business of the Year

Honors for the Downtown Business of the Year went to Lacey Garrett and Kirby Dudley at the Garage Barr + Bike, a woman's fitness center at the corner of South Church at Vine.


Downtown Design Award

The Downtown Design Award was presented to Roger and Kimberly Hopkins, who re-imagined and renovated the former phone company and medical clinic at 527 North Maple Street. Roger introduced the new tenants . . .

According to the Autism In Motion website, when a child has autism, small changes can add up to big victories. They use a method of testing and procedures known as Applied Behavior Analysis.

Doug Young Downtown Leadership Award

The Doug Young Downtown Leadership Award was presented to Brian Robertson, who is retiring from Rutherford County government. He started the county's centralized technology program in 1996. In addition, Robertson served as Main Street's board chair.

In the business portion of Main Street's annual meeting, the following persons were elected to serve 3-year terms on the board:

  • Ashley McDonad, Rutherford County
  • Greg McKnight, City of Murfreesboro
  • Stephanie Kusch, at large
  • Kirk Garrett, financial institution
  • Patrick CCammack, at large

Reappointments for another 3-year term:

  • Chantho Sourinho, Rutherford County
  • Randy Caldwell, downtwn business
  • Tab Talbott, at large


  • Randy Caldwell, chair
  • Tab Talbott, vice chair
  • Sean Gilliland, treasurer
  • Gloria Bonner, secretary
  • Bill Jakes, past chair

Returning Board Members:

  • Chris Lilly, City of Murfreesboro
  • Bill Shacklett, downtown property owner
  • Susan Grear, downtown business owner
  • Sharon Fitgerald, at large
  • Ron Taylor, at large

Sections: News