"Main Street" Packs Annual Meeting

Feb 21, 2012 at 01:47 pm by bryan

Over 75 supporters sttended the annual meeting of Main Street: Murfreesboro/Rutherford County at The Maple Street Grill and Uncorked on Tuesday (2/21/2012). The new executive committee and board of directors were elected. New Board Member Patrick Marthel presented a $10,000 check from his employer, State Farm.  In addition, Andrea Loughry received the "Design Award", while WGNS Talk Radio was named "Downtown Business of the Year". 

Design Award


Ed and Andrea Loughry were presented Main Street's "Design Award" for designing and constructing their home on the Murfreesboro square. The beautiful town home maintain the decor of the historic district while signifying a step forward in bringing residential life to the area. Andrea challenged the city and county to encourage residential development to attract cultural and age diversity to enrich the town square. She said, "There are now seven generations of Loughry's in this community, and our downtown home shows our belief in the future of our city and that we are firmly planted here." At the end of the meeting, Loughry graciously invited anyone who wished to visit her new Maple Street home on the Murfreesboro square to follow her over for a tour of this unique facility.  

Downtown Business of the Year

WGNS Talk Radio received the "Downtown Business of the Year Award". WGNS' Bart Walker noted that the business was started 65-years ago by the Elrod family to serve the local community. He noted, "Radio's job is to be a mirror of the community it serves. The happy as well as sad times are reflected over the airwaves to neighbors in the coverage area. Whether it's a ballgame, news of a council meeting or vital storm information--local radio is the friend who takes your hand and see you through challenges and cheers." He commented that WGNS started as a family business and continues that tradition with a pledge to maintain the philosophy of its name--Good Neighbor Station for which the G N S in the station's call sign stands".  

Newly Elected Officers and Board

Members unanimously approved the nominating committee's executive committee: Chair Bill Shacklett, Vice Chair Mike Zelenak, Treasurer Brian Kidd, Secretary Sarah Murfree, and Past Chair Sean Gilliland. Board members include Joseph Aydelott, Gloria Bonner, Stehanie Brackman, Dallas G. Caudle, Jr., Jim Crumley, Sharon Fitzgerald, Susan Grear, Holly Haley, David LaRoche, Patrick Marthel, Brian Robertson, Chantho Sourinho, Ron Taylor, Mary Beth Wilson and Doug Young. 

Sections: News