MTSU honors 56 retiring employees for years of service to students, community

Jul 08, 2020 at 07:29 am by WGNS

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. — MTSU has recognized nearly 60 retiring employees at the end of the 2019-20 academic year, saluting their hundreds of combined years of service devoted to students and the campus community.

The university normally conducts a formal event each spring to honor its retiring employees. The pandemic that forced MTSU to turn to online classes and send all but a handful of its faculty and staff home to work, however, also forced the cancelation of this year’s planned celebration for the 56 retirees.

The retiring employees and their departments include:

• Joann Batson of Murfreesboro, Information Technology Division.

• Walter Boles of Young Harris, Georgia, Department of Engineering Technology.

• Sandra Brandon of Woodbury, Tennessee, Creative Marketing Solutions.

• Jo Ann Carter of Murfreesboro, Post Office.

• Sandra Cavender of Nashville, Department of English.

• Michaele Chappell of Murfreesboro, Department of Mathematical Sciences.

• Gail Crips of Smithville, Tennessee, Department of Mathematical Sciences.

• Becky Davidson of Murfreesboro, Ann Campbell Early Learning Center.

• Kathy Davis of Murfreesboro, University Honors College.

• Marie Davis of Murfreesboro, Human Resource Services.

• Dusty Doddridge of Nashville, Career Development Center.

• Barbara Draude of Murfreesboro, Information Technology Division.

• Sharon Farmer of Murfreesboro, College of Basic and Applied Sciences.

• Pat Fones of Murfreesboro, Athletics.

• Roxanne Forth of Murfreesboro, Athletics.

• Zona Frazier of Murfreesboro, Child Care Lab.

• Gary Gardner of Murfreesboro, Information Technology Division.

• Glynda Gardner of Auburntown, Tennessee, University College.

• Sally Govan of Murfreesboro, Business and Economic Research Center.

• James Harris of Murfreesboro, Department of Physics and Astronomy.

• Nadine Harris of Murfreesboro, Womack Educational Leadership Department.

• Phillip Harvey of Murfreesboro, Housing.

• Mark Hayner of Murfreesboro, Housing.

• Jackie Heigle of Murfreesboro, Department of Media Arts.

• Christine Isley-Farmer of Murfreesboro, School of Music.

• Newtona “Tina” Johnson of Murfreesboro, Department of English.

• Faye Johnson of Murfreesboro, Office of the Provost.

• Linda F. Jordan of Murfreesboro, Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

• Dave Kelly of Murfreesboro, Department of Psychology.

• Mike Kennedy of Murfreesboro, Housing.

• Jaye Kiblinger of Edgewater, Florida, Department of Marketing.

• Phyllis Kitzler of Murfreesboro, Information Technology Division.

• Kathy Mathis of Lascassas, Tennessee, Department of Engineering Technology.

• Gale McLean of Murfreesboro, James E. Walker Library.

• Irma Melton of Woodbury, Department of Media Arts.

• Deborah Mistron of Murfreesboro, Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures.

• Don Morgan of Madison, Tennessee, Department of Health and Human Performance.

• Dave Munson of Murfreesboro, Information Technology Division.

• Sherrie Murray of Murfreesboro, Murphy Center Operations.

• Alan Musicant of Murfreesboro, Department of Psychology.

• Bob Petersen of Murfreesboro, Department of English.

• Floyd Pitts of Murfreesboro, Facilities Services Department.

• Marisa Recchia of Murfreesboro, Department of Art and Design.

• Ken Scherzer of Nashville, Department of History.

• Linda Seward of Murfreesboro, Department of Communication Studies.

• Bobby Simpson of Murfreesboro, Tennessee Livestock Center.

• Gail Sneed of Murfreesboro, Department of Media Arts.

• Terri Tharp of Murfreesboro, Department of Elementary and Special Education.

• Donnell Thompson of Murfreesboro, Energy Services Department.

• Shahrzad Toghraie of Nashville, Department of Chemistry.

• Karen Ward of Rockvale, Tennessee, School of Nursing.

• Gwen Williams of Rockvale, James E. Walker Library.

• Shauna Wilson of Liberty, Tennessee, Financial Aid Office.

• Donna Wolke of Murfreesboro, Department of Physics and Astronomy.

• Tricia Yeargan of Murfreesboro, Ann Campbell Early Learning Center.

• Richard York of Christiana, Tennessee, Facilities Services Department.

MTSU, which employs more than 2,500 faculty and staff members campuswide, honors its employees regularly with opportunities that include the MTSU Employee Recognition Program for administrators, classified and technical/service personnel and the MTSU Foundation Awards and Faculty Recognition presentations for faculty.


Sections: News