Senators White and Reeves elected to leadership roles in Senate Republican Caucus

Nov 20, 2020 at 05:00 am by WGNS

Senators Dawn White and Shane Reeves

Rutherford County lawmakers, Senators Dawn White and Shane Reeves, were unanimously elected by their colleagues on Thursday as officers in the Senate Republican Caucus.   White was elected Secretary and Reeves was reelected Chaplain of the Caucus, putting the Murfreesboro lawmakers on the leadership team that will guide the majority caucus through the 112th General Assembly.

Other officers elected by the caucus at the meeting were Senate Majority Leader Jack Johnson (R-Franklin), Senate Republican Caucus Chairman Ken Yager (R-Kingston) and Caucus Treasurer Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin).  In addition, caucus members voted to renominate Lt. Governor Randy McNally to a third term.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve in this role,” said Sen. White.  “Our caucus is ready to rise to the challenges that face our state and together I am certain we will do just that.”

“I am deeply honored to continue serving our caucus as Chaplain,” added Sen. Reeves.  “We have a lot of important issues in front of us in 2021, but I am optimistic that we will work together to advance policies that protect and improve Tennesseans’ lives and livelihoods.”

The meeting was held as the General Assembly prepares to open the first session of the 112th General Assembly on January 12.  Senate Republicans hold a 27-6 super majority, providing direct member representation to citizens in all 95 counties in Tennessee. 

Sections: News