2020 Physician Awards - Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital

Jan 25, 2021 at 10:05 am by WGNS

Left to Right: Dr. Little, Dr. Singer, Dr. Melekhin

Murfreesboro, Tenn. - Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital is pleased to recognize its 2020 honorees for outstanding accomplishments in clinical leadership. Dr. Pam Singer has been named Physician of the Year, Dr. Vlada Melekhin received the Clinical Excellence Award, and Dr. Joseph Little was honored with the Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award. 

Physician of the Year honoree Dr. Pam Singer has served as Family Medicine Department Chair and Quality of Care Committee Chair. She is also an esteemed faculty member for the UT Family Medicine Residency Program.

Dr. Vlada Melekhin, recipient of the Clinical Excellence Award, is a dedicated leader on Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital’s Infection Prevention Committee. Dr. Melekhin has played a key role in the hospital’s response to the Covid pandemic.

Recognized with the Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award, Dr. Joseph Little has been a member of the medical staff since 1982. He has served in various leadership capacities, including the following hospital committees: Patient Care Evaluation, Clinical Monitoring, and Ethics. 

“I am pleased to recognize these three individuals for the consistent, exceptional, and personalized care they provide our patients,” said Gordon Ferguson, President and CEO, Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital. “Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital is privileged to serve our community with the clinical excellence of these servant leaders.”

Award recipients were chosen by their medical staff peers. Areas for award consideration included: hospital tenure, leadership responsibilities, hospital board membership, and commitment to community service.

Sections: News