With the snow and ice behind us, warmer weather is springing up across the state. That’s a sign it’s time for yard and farm clean-up.
If you are in the city limits of Murfreesboro, Fire Chief Mark Foulks explai what is allowed...
Residents want to burn yard debris in the city limits need to know that Murfreesboro does not issue burn permits. However, you must contact the Murfreesboro Fire & Rescue Department (MFRD) Administration at 615-893-1422, between 8 and 10 a.m. the day you would like to burn to find out if the fire marshal is allowing burning. If you need assistance on a weekend, call 615-849-2661. The fire marshal decides on a daily basis whether or not it is a burn day according to weather and atmospheric conditions.
When following the guidelines of the state, materials that can be burned include leaves, branches, tree limbs, twigs, and other woody vegetation and yard trimmings gathered on site.
If you are in Rutherford County, you can obtain Debris Burn Permits for leaf and brush piles of any size at no charge by visiting BurnSafeTN.org.
Permits are issued only when conditions are conducive to safe burning.
Burning in the county (outside of the city limits) without a permit is a serious offense that can result in a fine and/or up to 30 days in jail. To report illegal burning, please call 1-888-891-TDEC. If you have information about an intentionally-set fire, call the Tennessee Arson Hotline number at 1-800-762-3017. The hotline is answered 24-hours a day, and you may remain anonymous when providing information. You could earn a cash reward from the Tennessee Advisory Committee on Arson and the Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office.