Smyrna High announces athletic hall of fame inductees

Aug 24, 2021 at 09:50 pm by Danny Brewer

The Smyrna High School athletic hall of fame will be adding a new class of inductees this fall. On October 23 the latest bunch of Bulldog greats will be recognized for their achievements in the purple and gold. The inductees are as follows:

  • Kara Ford (bowling) State champion in 2013 and was Miss Tn Bowler in 2012-13
  • Zach Haynes (golf) State runner up in 2013 and most accomplished golfer in school history
  • Michael Hicks (basketball) 1000 point scorer, averaged 20 points per game senior year, has played 14 years of professional basketball in Europe and was on 2021 Polish Olympic team
  • Makenzie Prince (softball) 2 time All-State selection, Led team to AAA state title in 2013 and was named Gatorade player of the year in 2013
  • Kathy Riley (girls basketball) 1976 Mid-State player of the year, All-State in 1976, member of state runner-up team in 1976, scored 1800 points at East Carolina University and a member of school’s hall of fame, extensive coaching career in women’s college basketball
  • Tony Trumphour (Swim Coach) Longest tenured coach in school history (33 years), only swim coach in Bulldog history, Rutherford County Champions seven consecutive years (2004-2010), career record of 254 wins 76 losses in dual meet competition
  • 2005 and 2006 State Champion Bowling teams to be inducted
  • 2006 and 2007 State Champion football teams to be inducted

Enshrinement festivities will be conducted at 11 am on October 23 in the Shannon Williams Auditorium on the campus of Smyrna High School.


Sections: Prep Sports News