The United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties Announces Distinguished Award Recipients Recognized at the Community Celebration

Nov 15, 2021 at 02:32 pm by WGNS

Murfreesboro, TN — The United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties has named Ted and Gloria LaRoche as the Witherspoon Award recipient, Kara J. Kemp as the Volunteer of the Year recipient, Dr. James E. Calder as the Board Member of the Year, Kristin Dailey as the Employee Campaign Manager of the Year recipient, Jay Sanders as the Young Leader of the Year recipient, and Dr. Lana Seivers as the Dr. Linda Gilbert Advocate of the Year recipient.

2020-2021 Witherspoon Award: Ted and Gloria LaRoche

The LaRoches contribute to the local United Way at the highest giving society, the Tocqueville Society. The LaRoches exemplify United Way’s high ideals of commitment to community through giving, advocating, and volunteering. Whenever called upon, Ted and Gloria step up to enable United Way’s goals.

2020-2021 Volunteer of the Year: Kara J. Kemp

Kara J. Kemp produces United We Style, an annual fundraiser for the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties. For nine years, Kemp has raised significant funds and produced a professional and creative show highlighting United Way’s impact on the community.

Scroll down to continue reading...


2020-2021 Board Member of the Year: Dr. James E. Calder

Dr. James E. Calder was nominated and voted as board member of the year by his fellow board members. Calder demonstrates outstanding service and commitment to the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties through the contribution of his time, talents, and resources.

2020-2021 Employee Campaign Manager of the Year: Kristin Dailey

Kristin Dailey has served as the Employee Campaign Manager for Region’s in Rutherford and Cannon counties since 2019. During the height of the pandemic, Dailey found new and creative ways to connect Region’s employees to United Way’s mission and impact through virtual poverty simulations. As a result of Dailey’s leadership, Region’s workplace giving campaign saw a significant increase.

2020-2021 Young Leader of the Year: Jay Sanders

Jay Sanders has been a committed member of United Way’s Young Leaders Society (YLS) from its inception. Sanders is among the first to volunteer for various projects associated with YLS and has been instrumental in the YLS Dodge for a Cause fundraiser.


2020-2021 Advocate of the Year: Dr. Lana Seivers

Dr. Lana Seivers has had a lifelong commitment to education and has played a key role in advocating for children across the state of Tennessee. Seivers exemplifies the values of the late Dr. Linda Gilbert and her commitment to the future of children.

2020-2021 Community Impact Award: Ascension St. Thomas Rutherford Hospital

Ascension St. Thomas Rutherford Hospital plays a crucial role in building up our community. The organization continuously supports efforts of change in our community, leaving a lasting impact.

2020-2021 Community Engagement Award: Wilson Bank & Trust

Wilson Bank & Trust goes above and beyond with its partnership with United Way through year-round engagement and volunteer involvement. This year, Wilson Bank & Trust has exceeded expectations of organizational involvement.

2020-2021 Rise Award: Envision

Throughout 2020-2021, Envision has had a significant increase in their support of United Way. Their growth in support is not only impressive, but exciting going into the years to come.

Award recipients were recognized at United Way’s Annual Community Celebration on Thursday, November 4th, which celebrated the success and commitment of United Way donors, sponsors and volunteers over the last fiscal year.

Chevrolet, Buick, GMC of Murfreesboro was the presenting sponsor of United Way’s Community Celebration. Supporting sponsors included Don and Hanna Witherspoon, FirstBank, Middle Tennessee Electric, City Auto, Volunteer State Bank, Publix, Redstone Federal Credit Union, Regions, First Horizon, Wilson Bank and Trust, Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital, and Robin Seay of Parks.

Sections: News