First Graduating Class of the Rutherford County Fire Rescue Department

Apr 24, 2023 at 06:15 am by WGNS News



Rutherford County, TN - The Rutherford County Fire Rescue Department is continuing their growth with new fire stations and firefighters. After going through a vetted hiring process that included multiple interviews, newly hired personnel went through a strenuous 12-week training academy. At the end of the grueling academy, some failed to meet the bar and didn't graduate.


This month, the very first class of new fire personnel graduated from their in-house training academy on Friday, April 21, 2023. Graduating were 18-highly qualified individuals, some of whom came from other departments, one even a former police officer. Others had previously qualified to be a fireman after graduating from the Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy, operated by the state. This week, those newly hired firefighters will begin work within the county. Chief Larry Farley swore-in the 18-new firefighters after their graduation certificates were handed to each of the men on Friday.

The son of WGNS' Scott Walker was one of those graduates. Sammy McCurry-Walker will be stationed at one of the new fire hall's in the county in the near future.

About 13-years ago, Rutherford County officials created a County-wide fire department merging several volunteer organizations under a new County agency.  Between 2010 and 2014, The Rutherford County Fire Department continued to operate as a volunteer fire department.

Prior to year 2010, fire protection in Rutherford County, outside the municipal city limits of Murfreesboro, Smyrna, LaVergne and Eagleville, were provided by 11 all-volunteer 501(c)(3) non-profit fire departments.  These departments were not associated with the County and provided fire protection services under contract with Rutherford County to their respective districts.   

9-Years ago, the County was awarded a SAFER grant that allowed them to hire their first 12 full-time Firefighters (4 per shift with 3 shifts).  At that time, the Rutherford County Fire-Rescue Department operated out of one station on Barfield Road.  With the merger of the Walter Hill Volunteer Fire Department, a second full-time station was added in 2016. 

In 2019, Rutherford County EMS Special Operations was merged with Rutherford County Fire Rescue, adding a third full-time station. Between 2020 and 2021, The County Commission approved the construction of six new Public Safety Buildings. The first new Public Safety Building, which is nearly complete, will open this year. That new $7.16-million building sits at 6550 Highway 99 in Rockvale. The land is shared with the county schools. Money to construct all of the new buildings was made possible through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Corona-virus Recovery Funds issued from the federal government in 2021.

The very first class of new RCFR graduates include:

  • Cohen Bennett

  • Cameron Bogle

  • Schylar Burgess

  • Kyle Frazier

  • Samuel Gordon

  • Michael Harris

  • Ethan Hassell

  • Liam Homka

  • Samuel Luker

  • Sammy McCurry-Walker

  • Sean Mechling

  • Ronald Miller

  • Luke Mitchell

  • Corbin Powell

  • Wesley Pruitt

  • Tyler Rives

  • Anthony Stramglia

  • Chase Tramell


Sections: News