MTE Substation Move Is THURSDAY

May 24, 2023 at 05:35 pm by WGNS

(Rutherford County, TN)  Middle Tennessee Electric (MTE) workers and contractors are moving a large substation transformer from MTE’s Owl Hollow Substation in Franklin to Rutherford County on Thursday, May 25. Traffic is expected to be considerably affected during the moving process. 

The move was initially scheduled for Tuesday but postponed to Thursday due to unforeseen complications. It will take place over several hours between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. to avoid school traffic and rush hour. Drivers are encouraged to plan ahead and seek alternate routes if possible.


Avoid This Area 9AM-3PM

Duplex Road will be nearly shut down as the load progresses along the approximately 60-mile route through four counties, which also includes Owl Hollow Road, Lewisburg Pike (US 431), State Route 99, Nashville Highway (US 31A), Eagleville Pike (SR 99), Highway 41A, SR 99 (New Salem Highway), Veterans Parkway, Burnt Knob Road, Manson Pike, Florence Road, Old Nashville Highway and Southern Place. This move is a state-permitted heavy-haul operation.   

In January, MTE installed a new transformer at the Owl Hollow Substation, which increased the substation capacity by 20%. The transformer being moved will go to the Florence Substation and double the capacity for this high-growth area of Rutherford County.

About MTE

Founded in 1936, MTE is the largest electric cooperative in the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) region and the second largest in the United States, serving more than 750,000 Tennesseans via 325,000+ accounts covering nearly 2,200 square miles in 11 Middle Tennessee counties, primarily Rutherford, Cannon, Williamson and Wilson. Municipalities served include Murfreesboro, Franklin, Brentwood, Smyrna, La Vergne, Lebanon, and Mt. Juliet. MTE employs 520 people in seven local offices and its Murfreesboro corporate headquarters.

MTE’s subsidiary, United Communications, is a nationally recognized broadband company with a fiber network spanning more than 1,700 route miles providing high-speed internet and other services to portions of Williamson, Rutherford, Marshall, Bedford, Franklin, Wilson, and Davidson counties. 

For more information, please visit

Sections: News