Rutherford County and Surrounding Areas Benefit as Tennessee Rescue Squads Secure $3 Million in Grants for Lifesaving Equipment

Mar 12, 2024 at 03:51 pm by Chandelar Williams

Rutherford County, TN - Tennessee's Department of Commerce & Insurance (TDCI) and the Tennessee State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) have recently announced that 104 Tennessee rescue squads may receive grants totaling $3 million in 2024 through the Rescue Squad Grant Program. This initiative, greenlit for funding back in 2022 by Governor Bill Lee and the General Assembly, is aimed at providing lifesaving equipment to Tennessee rescue squads. These grants are crucial for enhancing incident response capabilities and ensuring the safety of squad members during rescue operations.
Among the beneficiaries are prominent rescue squads like Cannon County Rescue Squad, La Vergne Rescue Unit, and Metropolitan Lynchburg Moore County. These squads, alongside others, offer vital services such as extrication, structural collapse response, and swift water rescue to their local communities.
Tennessee State Fire Marshal and TDCI Commissioner Carter Lawrence expressed his satisfaction in supporting Tennessee's rescue squads, aligning with Governor Lee's goal of fortifying rural communities. These grants play a significant role in enabling rescue squads to continue their essential mission of safeguarding lives and property statewide.
Assistant Commissioner for Fire Prevention Gary Farley emphasized the importance of equipping rescue squads with necessary equipment for the safety of both rescuers and those they serve. He extended his congratulations to all grant recipients and wished them well in their future endeavors.
During the recent application period from January 8 to February 8, 2024, the SFMO received a total of 126 applications from Tennessee rescue squads. These applications were carefully reviewed and scored internally before being evaluated by a seven-member committee, consisting of six members from the Tennessee Rescue Squad Association and TDCI's Assistant Commissioner of Fire Prevention, who oversaw the selection process for grant awards.
Sections: News